top of page
Screenshot 2023-11-10 at 3.37.51 PM.png

I Can Take it From Here:
A Memoir of Trauma, Prison, and Self-Empowerment 

"An emotional, page-turning account of unhealed trauma and personal transformation that will break your heart and change your mind, in the tradition of Somebody’s Daughter, A Piece of Cake, and Jesmyn Ward’s Men We Reaped"

41cgp+TxxDL_edited.jpg

PURCHASE ON:

READ REVIEWS ON: 

From An Unimaginable Past to A Purposeful Present

A MEMOIR OF RESILIENCE, FORGIVENESS, AND  THRIVING IN THE FACE OF TRAUMA AND INCARCERATION

The youngest of six children, Lisa Forbes grew up in a Chicago housing project where she endured years of sexual, religious, and emotional abuse as a little girl.  Lisa could read at the age of three and graduated high school at the age of 15, but her mother’s religious beliefs prohibited the study of "worldly" knowledge.  As a result, Lisa was denied the opportunity to go to college.  Instead, at age 15 she went to work as a full-time secretary.  At 16 she became pregnant by a man she met on the job.  At 19, she had what she can only describe as a mental and emotional breakdown, during which she stabbed and killed the father of her daughter.  She spent her entire 20s and early 30s in prison.

 

Now based in Colorado, Lisa Forbes is a keynote speaker, author, and trauma resolution specialist, using the Emotional Freedom Techniques.  As the principal of Lisa Forbes Speaks and the author of I Can Take it From Here: A Memoir of Trauma, Prison, and Self-Empowerment, her mission is to heal the trauma of prisoners and former prisoners, whom she calls "restored citizens,” military veterans, and other survivors of PTSD and moral injury.

IMGM7759-Edit.jpg
4Z8A7814-Enhanced-NR-Edit.jpg

I Can Take It From Here

A MEMOIR OF TRAUMA, PRISON, AND SELF-EMPOWERMENT

A candid account of personal transformation and the tools to overcome adversity and live your best life. Based on 14 years in prison and becoming a paralegal, as well as continued growth through therapy and self-reflection. Perfect for anyone looking for inspiration or practical advice on their own journey of healing and self-improvement. And a must-read for anyone interested in the criminal justice system and reducing recidivism.

Lisa Forbes is a renowned speaker, author, and advocate for change. She shares her personal experiences with resilience, self-acceptance, and forgiveness to inspire others on their journey towards healing and empowerment.

 

Lisa's story serves as a reminder that we are not defined by our past mistakes or trauma, but rather by our ability to rise above them. Through her work, she aims to break the stigma surrounding mental health and incarceration, and promote a culture of healing and understanding. Lisa's message of hope and resilience resonates with audiences around the world, making her a powerful force for change in our society.

4Z8A7916.jpg

Book I 
Chicago

ESCAPE

Jump

Friendly Ghosts

Wiggling

The Lake Michigan High-Rises

The First Time

Shame

Mama and Daddy

Sisters and Brothers

I Need a Knife

Mount Olympus

Romance

Shunned

In the Loop

James

The American Dream

The Crime

Confession

Cook County Jail

The Trial

Shipment

"You Just Have to Be Patient"

Tango Aftermath

Recovery

The Education of Lisa Forbes

The Parable of the Enlightened Man

Of Thee I Sing

Baptism

Book II
Atlanta

New Car,

New Home

New Life

Free Entrepreneur

Marrying Mommy

Answered Prayer

Really Old Hurts

Surgery

Divorce

Book III
Denver

Book IV
The Way Forward

Denver

A Temporary Life

Parliament

InTown Suites

Zoe

A Room Full of Faces

Armageddon

Lisa Forbes Inc.

From Invisible to Restored

Why This Book Exists 

REASON #1

To Show That Restoration Is Possible

When I was released from prison, I made a commitment to share my story – but I wanted to give people more than just hope.  I wanted to give them actual TOOLS THEY COULD USE to set themselves free.  Clinical EFT is the tool I used.  Now I want to put it in the hands of other traumatized people so that they, too, can "take it from here."

REASON #2

To Show That Restored Citizens Belong in the Workforce

People with criminal records need to be in the workforce at the level at which they are actually qualified.  They should not automatically be presumed to be fit only for entry-level positions and minimum-wage jobs when many of them have college degrees and certificates.

REASON #3

To Show That Trauma Resolution is the Foundation to True Prison Abolition. 

My experience has shown me the importance of addressing trauma, providing education and job training in prison, and integrating restored citizens into the workforce. It’s not only good for them, but also for our economy and public safety. I hope to use my platform to bring about much-needed change.

I Can Take It From Here: A MEMOIR

Our society is facing a crisis of trauma, especially in marginalized communities. Too often, those who have experienced trauma are stigmatized and silenced, leading to a cycle of pain and suffering. As a result, we are seeing high rates of mental illness, substance abuse, and incarceration.

This book exists as a beacon of hope for those who have endured unimaginable hardships. It is an uplifting and empowering memoir that shows how one can overcome trauma, find forgiveness, and thrive in the face of adversity. Our hope is that this book will inspire others to share their own stories, creating a ripple effect of healing and understanding in our society.

bottom of page